HELP! I need your help!

road_sign_need_help

ARE THERE ANY THINKERS LEFT?

37stories blog has been read thousands of times.  There have been hundreds of comments.  This post is written to the inspired thinkers.  You know who you are.  I need help with a question.  Consider this:

The Bible says, “In the beginning was the Word.”  I think that means that in the beginning there was a component of God known as the Word.  As history began to unfold, God beginning inspiring people to write this part of Him known as the Word onto papyrus or whatever.

Here is the question:  What is the Word before there was the Bible?

Unfortunately, I fear we have lost the art of thinking.  We have become a world of passive participants.  Maybe someone will surprise me with something God has revealed.

17 comments on “HELP! I need your help!

  1. Good morning. We know that Jesus is the Word and that God inhabits eternity; both past and future. He is unchanging and his ways are as far above ours as the heavens are above the earth.

    I was also just thinking of Proverbs 8:22 which, concerning wisdom, reads “The LORD possessed me in the beginning of his way, before his works of old.”

    I know that I haven’t answered much here, but thought I would offer up some thoughts that came up while reading this. I’m glad to have found your blog.

    Have a blessed day in Jesus.

    timbob

  2. Hi Archie;

    The word is communication, which has been around since the beginning and will be to the end of humanity.

    By communicating we are able to share our thoughts about God, morality and other topics of interest in our lives, without it we would have chaos and anarchy and be no better than the dogs of this world.

    The Word sets us apart. The bible is only a book of different books written by different authors over the years and selected by men to be a part of the bible.

    Jesus wasn’t around when the books about him were written, as they were all penned after his death. Would he have signed off on his biography?

    Something to think about.

  3. Thanks tb. I’ve added your site as a link on my blogroll. If you don’t mind, what part of the world are you from? I like to make note on the listing.

    Referencing your thoughts, thank you. For me, it seems the richest wisdom is found in finding answers to questions I have not pondered. It helps me to hear from people of all walks and faiths. It spurs me on toward finding the truth if God chooses to reveal.

    It occurs to me that He reveals bits and pieces to me over time. It would seem He may work in other peoples lives in the same way. It is my hope that someone will have revelation which can be confirmed by His Word and I will grow closer to Him because of the journey.

  4. Ichabod, unknowingly your view of the Bible has been kicking my butt. I have thought about it much over the past few days. My interpretation of your thoughts are what created the question in my mind, “What was the Word before the Bible came into being?”

    I’ll not argue your point of view, because I really am thinking about it. But, my gut tells me you have over simplified the facts. I am still seeking… likely for a lifetime. :)

  5. Interesting dialogue …

    “In the beginning WAS the word … & the word was WITH God … & the word WAS God.”

    Also written, “the word became flesh & dwelt among us” …

    so that takes on a whole different avenue of thinking.

  6. Mareydt, Thank you. “the Word was God.” I think this is where my thinking on the Bible has gone awry. I have simplistically believed the Word as the Bible. I never considered possibility of the Bible as being only a small component of the Word. Is that possible?

    If it is possible, why after 50 years of believing am I only now asking the question? IS it a question that has already been answered many times over and I was not listening or are the religious leaders of our time not asking the questions?

    Thanks again.

  7. Jesus said that we should live by every word that comes out of the mouth of God. Whether it’s the revealed word contained in the Bible or a prophetic word from an anointed preacher, or it’s a revelation from the Holy Spirit, it’s still His word and it certainly reveals Him.
    Jesus was called the Word. Then he told Philip, “The Father and I are one. He who has seen Me has seen the Father.”
    In another place it is said that He holds everything together by the “word of His power.” I think that this power is the same thing that was present at the instant of creation and will be the same thing that defeats the enemies of God in the end.
    Great question! It really does make one think.

  8. Jerald, I visited your blog. Great teaching.

    You bring up the thought, “The Father and I are one.” So, one knows of the Trinity. God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit. Is there really a fourth component to God called God the Word? It would seem…

  9. Hi Archie;

    My intent is not to destroy peoples’ faith.

    My blog is mine and I use it to question and make observations that are valid for me and there is no other venue around that will serve the same purpose.

    I believe in God.

    I believe in morals, not that I haven’t transgressed them. I am no angel but I am not one of Satan’s workers either.

    I cannot describe my God nor can I put words in God’s mouth. It is beyond my mortal power to do this.

    I believe in justice for all, a fair justice.

    I don’t believe murder is part of justice.

    I do believe that when acting in self defense or in defense of another and someone loses a life that is acceptable as there are those out there whose sole purpose is that of destruction.

    After your comment, I decided it was necessary to post this one. Archie, I like your blog otherwise I wouldn’t visit it and I like you although we have never met.

    I wish no one turmoil or oppression. It is not me, although I have caused some and been victim of some in my life.

    I learn from it and choose to improve.

    Jesus and Ecclesiastes both agreed that to achieve life one must follow the commandments or spiritual laws, which have as much validity in my mind as the law of gravity or theory of relativity.

    In my little life that is my conclusion. There will be some that disagree, but that is OK. It is not their life, only mine. They can do with theirs as they will and I will respect them for that, as long as they respect others in the same manner.

  10. Hi Ich! You say, “My intent is not to destroy peoples’ faith.” Thx. Likely, there is a weakness of faith among the peoples of the world. But I’m not sure it is possible to distroy a true faith.

    This has been a great dialogue. I hope to hear more.

  11. WOW! The responses are awesome! Thank you…

    But I am still confused. I will assume we correctly believe the Word before the Bible came on the scene was God (by some definition). Then, the Bible was written over a period of time by man under the inspiration of God. But, how did we make the jump from the Bible being a person to the Bible being a book?

    Ichabod, does that speak to the conflict I may have with your thoughts on the bible with a lowercase “b”?

  12. Hi Arch;

    The bible is not a book in the regular sense. It is a compilation of 66 works.

    God was here before the beginning and will be here long after everything (at least we) are gone. That is where eternity comes in.

    There were a number of books considered for the bible but some rejected for one reason or another. I have read a few of them.

    I assume due to lack of materials and printing presses that written works and people who had the ability to read and write were few and far between centuries ago.

    Anything that was written carried authority and mystique about it. The “written” word had some meaning in times past as very few disputed it.

    In some schools where they teach theology, the students have to sign a declaration stating that the bible is the absolute word of God before they start their education, which I believe is counterproductive.

    There is an interesting history that corresponds to how the bible evolved to what it is now.

    There is a whole world out there with much history, a lot of which we don’t know about. For thousands of years people have lived on different continents without the benefit of a bible.

    The bible doesn’t mention North and South America or Russia and other places that I am aware of, probably because the writers were not aware of these places.

    There was a documentary on this tribe in central America some decades ago and they believed in a spiritual singular God that was much the same as the one we refer to. They were not barbarians in the sense that they had civil order and such. They were poor materialistically but really did not seem to miss what they did not have and appeared to be happy enough.

    I think awareness of God and a basic morality system may be instinctive and may be corrupted easily enough. I don’t believe God to be so cruel as to send generations of people to an eternal hell because they never heard of the written word.

    That is my take on it. It may not necessarily be the view of management :)

  13. I’m sitting here with family all around and they wishing I would put the laptop away. I asked them about the Word. My sister-in-law said, “Ask Ich.” Ha! Gotta go. Chat later.

  14. The only person that can help you is yourself..

    that’s the best advice I see here..

    Archie’s comment: Thanks for the advice. I’m not sure how to implement it. :)

Leave a Reply

