My Favorite African

Email from Janette to her sistors.  Enjoy!
.
My TIMO team flew into Loki, Kenya today so I am at an internet cafe. We may be able to check our email once more Thurs. or Fri. so hope to hear from you! I am getting letters about 4 weeks after you’ve sent them–thanks Mary, Martha, and Cathy!
.
We had this time in Loki scheduled as a short vacation, but it turns out it is a temporary withdrawal from Sudan. We are all fine, no one is hurt or threatened, but we have had ongoing problems with crimes/theft since even before we came. Sunday was the last straw: we had a flight out on Sunday scheduled (the tribe knew about it) but it was cancelled because the pilot was sick. While we were all at the team house, someone broke through the wall of our hut and stole a bunch of stuff.
.
They also broke the lock on my hut but didn’t get in, we think we scared them away on our way home. So my team leader, spoke to the Chief and laid down some conditions as we all toted our five thousand bags and boxes of stuff to the house. He said we were leaving, and unless the past known thieves were caught and punished, as well as the current thieves, we would not come back.
.
Another condition was that the chief has to reiterate to the community that we have come first and foremost to learn the language, that we cannot do anything long lasting with the community needs until we learn it, and that the chief needs to communicate we will not build a school or a clinic or anything until that is done, Many people have been complaining about us “not doing anything”  and we are constantly bombarded with requests for soap, salt, tea, and water.
.
Other than that, we are doing fairly well learning the language and getting to know the people, even have some we are very friendly with. Life is very physically draining, and having to be mentally processing things almost all day to communicate simple things is draining, not to mention getting used to living here with complete strangers! My hut-mates are really great, and we are still working out our chore schedule and trying to find a sort of household “rhythm.”
.
The terrain is breathtaking: we are surrounded by layers upon layers of mountains, and a cool breeze is always blowing. I will be able to get internet for the next couple of days, which is very unusual, and snail mail is really the best way for us to keep in touch. Our internet connection in Sudan is very bad and unpredictable. I am sending Christmas cards today so you’ll get more on my daily living/life especially if you share with each other.
.
Please do not stop praying for me and my whole team every day–we really need it. The spiritual oppression here is palpable, the people are lawless, and God wants so badly to show them who He is. Also pray for our physical strength, for quick language acquisition, and for continued team unity. I would even go so far as to say to get a group  together  to fast and pray for us.
.
This is a very difficult time for us all, and we all want very badly to stay in the village, but must face the reality that it will not work out. We want the community to give a clear indication through the chief that they really want us there, that it is not just the chief and the state commissioner.
.
I love you all and am praying for each of you! Despite what I have just written, I am in great spirits–just had a strawberry milkshake! And the Lord has given me a supernatural peace. Please do not worry about me but PRAY instead, and know that I know that God is in control and He will protect me.
 
Every breath, every step, every move in Him,
Janino

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

Leave a comment