There was a time before Jesus filled the gap..

It is tough to imagine a time before Jesus.  It was a tough time.  It was a time of limited grace and mercy.  It was a time when there was every reason to fear God.  Job says it well…

"He is not a man like me that I might answer him,
that we might confront each other in court.

If only there were someone to arbitrate between us,
to lay his hand upon us both,

someone to remove God's rod from me,
so that his terror would frighten me no more.

Then I would speak up without fear of him,
but as it now stands with me, I cannot.

If Job had experienced his suffering after Jesus came and fulfilled God's promises, I think his story would have been different.  Don't you?

http://www.1stchurch.org.  You'll find 37stories there and all my friends.

For more GodSpots – 37stories Enjoy!

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

14 thoughts on “There was a time before Jesus filled the gap..”

  1. Hey Godless! Welcome to 37stories. You speak truth. Turning the other cheek seems a bit counterproductive. But tell me and my readers, how did you come by the name Godless American?

  2. I appropriated it from Ann Coulter. I’m atheist and liberal so it seemed fitting.

  3. I see. The name is descriptive and I certainly appreciate the American part. I come from a scientific background, so have had plenty of atheist friends. Do you come with an intellectual background?

  4. Hmm, an intellectual background. What an interesting question; perhaps vice a primitive cave-dwelling one? I read, I’m cognizant of the world around me, I’m collegiately educated and self-educated, but I’m the first in my family to go to college.

    Why would Job’s story have been any different? Because god changed?

  5. The question of background was to better define who I am talking to. Not because an intellectual background increases your worth, only that it comes with certain advantages and disadvantages. Labels have difficulty communicating who a person really is.

    If I say, “I am Christian.”, you will make certain assumptions. Likely, you would be wrong. When you say you are American, I think I understand. When you say you are atheist, I think I understand but maybe not. It has been my observation (right or wrong) that many intelligent people are atheist.

    As for the why Job’s story might be different, I’m not a Biblical scholar, but it seems to me God adopted a much more graceful governing style 2,000 years, ago. It appears He may not be so quick to let go a lightening bolt in judgment, but somewhat patiently allows us to make mistakes and then come back around to His way of thinking.

    Thanks for the inquiring mind…

  6. Yes, but Job wasn’t making any mistakes. Did god suddenly become more confident; did he lose his need to prove his power and the strength of his followers faith?

  7. Godless. Thanks for responding. Yes. It appears Job was a good man and God was rightfully proud of Him. It seems unlikely that a God who created the universe would need to increase His confidence or prove anything. Seems a bit contradictory as any proving that needed to be done would have already happened a long time, ago. 🙂

    On the other hand, an individual’s faith is incredibly important. I think that is the point of Job’s suffering. The adversary creates suffering in our lives and God miraculously turns something bad into something good. Many times suffering produces a deeper faith that can only be found in the midst of a dark time.

    By the way… Your picture of Palin, “R” and “D” was amusing.

  8. In the book of Job, God turns something good in to something bad, then turns it good again after he’s proved something to satan. It’s an illustration that god, perhaps, has been created in man’s image instead of the other way around. Secondly, I thought pride was a deadly sin. Why should god need pride of anything?

  9. Good try, but not true. The bad already existed. God just gave his conditional permission to let it work its way in Job’s life. Job’s faith and the faith of his friends was increased. God scores 1. Satan scores 0.

    I’m confused on the pride thing. Not sure where it applies in Job’s life?

    On a side bar and as a point of interest, when did you make the conscious decision to become an atheist? Forgive my ignorance, but does that mean you don’t believe there is a God or some modified belief in God?

    archie

  10. Good try, and accurate one at that. I suppose you’ll have a different interpretation of Job than I will.

    I don’t believe in your god anymore than you probably believe in Zeus or Helena.

    There is no higher power.

    Honestly, I don’t know why there is even a word for not believing in a god. There aren’t specific words for not believing in other things. I don’t believe in astrology, no word for that. I don’t believe in ghosts, no word for that.

  11. What?! There is no Zeus?! Next thing you know you will tell me there is no Santa Clause! Thanks for the dialog. Let’s meet again sometime…

  12. I guess you feel insulted by that, but when you realize why you don’t believe in Zeus then you’ll understand why I don’t believe in your god. See, you’re an atheist too. You don’t believe in hundreds of gods, nor do I. You’ve decided to believe in one, I do not.

  13. Insulted? No way! You got the wrong guy. I don’t wear my religion on my sleeve and you can’t insult me. When you have been through the fire, there is not much left to burn.

    I truly appreciate your thoughts and am learning from your candid point of view. Here’s the deal. Many Christian’s roll up their sleeves and are ready to beat you with the Bible they carry when you challenge their religion. It is pointless in my opinion.

    You believe what you believe, because that is your identity. Who am I to change who you are? Only the Creator can make that change, so my arguments are futile. I just want to understand how you got to where you are. I know how I got to where I am.

    So. Be encouraged to challenge all you want. I consider your thoughts enlightening and who knows maybe someday we will find common ground.

    Anyway God bless! I’ll be lurking on your website.
    archie

Leave a Reply

