What was before there were Baptists?

I’m not a Bible history scholar so I really don’t know, but I wonder where people went to church before there were Baptist churches? Did they go to Catholic, Lutheran, Presbyterian, Episcopal, Methodist, Mormon, Church of Christ, Church of God, Mennonite, Hindu, Buddists, Islam or Hebrew churches? I really don’t know, but I wonder…

I wonder because if they didn’t go to a Baptist church, their experience was probably different than mine has been for 50 years. Did they have a priest, preacher, pastor, rabbi, clergy, apostle, leader, head, overseer, elder, deacon or who held them accountable?

So I am wondering…

If you did away with all the religions and did away with all the offices held by “men of the cloth” of all these religions, what would you have left? Could it be you might have a body of believers known as the Church with a capital “C”?

Could it be you would find yourself accountable to Jesus? Might this be God’s plan?

Yikes! I might have just talked myself out of a job. Forget I said anything. Ha!
Surf to: http://www.freshc.org for a Fresh Connection…

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

One thought on “What was before there were Baptists?”

  1. Comment by:Timothy
    The definitive book on Baptist history is Goldrick’s Baptist Successionism. Goldrick lays to rest the Trail of Blood myth and documents Baptists seperating from the Anglican/Church of England. So before they were Baptists, they were Anglican.

    Keep in mind that the English Reformation began less than 100 years before the Baptist movement started, so historically, Baptists were Latin Rite (Roman) Catholic before they were Baptists. Most Americans tracing their roots back to Europe will discover most, if not all, their ancestors before 1500 were Catholic.

    God bless…

Leave a Reply

