Life’s experience I recall…

excerpt from “Plain View” by Ichabod

‘Years ago when I was in my late teens, I had a vision or dream.

There was a glow beyond the crest of a mountain. Climbing toward the
summit, the light gained in intensity. It was not a normal light, as
compared to sunlight or a light bulb. This “light” was different.
As I approached the peak and about to view the source of light, I
realized I would see my Creator or in essence, God’s face.

The purity was intense.

I did not have the courage within me to look.

As I tumbled back down the mountain, running away from the light,
which was not threatening other than my awareness of what I knew it to
be, I realized I was not in the land of consciousness.

I tried to wake and could not.

I forced my eyelids open with my fingers to view the familiar and escape.

My chest was heaving like it never heaved before or since, my heart
pounding past the point of dangerous. I forced my mind to concentrate
on slowing my heart down. I felt terror and was soaked in a cold
sweat. This all happened in a matter of minutes.

I continued with life. I performed that which we consider good and
evil on this world, living as if there was no consequence.

The vision or dream may have been born from a physical cause, yet
there is something so real about it, not like any other dream or
nightmare I have had before or since.

I realized my true nature and it was wanting.

Not where it should be.

The realization and experience of true humility. I was not worthy in
my own eyes.

I think upon the dialog Pain and I are having regarding the Pastor
who committed suicide and the questions the Pastor’s suicide spawned.

It brought me back to that time so many years ago and I now wonder……”

Surf to: http://www.freshc.org for a Fresh Connection…

For more GodSpots – 37stories Enjoy!

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

2 thoughts on “Life’s experience I recall…”

Leave a comment