Is it OK if I invite some friends over and God births a Church?

I am thinking about inviting some people together I have met on Facebook and friends I know from other venues and see if a Church is formed. That sounds weird. Aren’t you suppose to launch something and plant something? Shouldn’t I have money, a building and business plan? I don’t know. All I have is my Bible.

I’ve been reading in the Word and I can’t find Jesus’ business plan and I don’t think He had much money. I know He didn’t lease a building and Paul didn’t need one because he was locked up most of the time. So I have come full circle and wonder why I can’t just invite some folks over and see if God forms a Church?

I figure everyone could just come as they are. Maybe bring something to eat and something of life to share. Maybe a story or song? Anything that God puts on their heart would be fine. I’m not a preacher, so it will just be us believers. I’m told we are all priests. Might that be enough?

Now I know there are people reading this blog that are much smarter than I. Maybe you can save me some embarrassment and tell me why a fellow can’t just organically grow a church much like you’d grow a mustard seed? I’m serious. If there is a reason why a fellow shouldn’t do this, I’d like to know. Otherwise, I guess I will.

How about we give it a try as a New Year’s Eve party? Seems like a good way to start the year. Interested?

Surf to: http://www.freshc.org for a Fresh Connection…

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

11 thoughts on “Is it OK if I invite some friends over and God births a Church?”

  1. Nathan, have you read Organic Church by Neil Cole? It’s an awesome book, and he talks about doing this very thing. It is a movement in this country, and accross the globe. Check out the book. Our church is exploring moving in the direction of starting churches like this.

  2. Doing this at my house. Works for me and my friends. Like what Frank Viola says about all of us followers of Jesus having a common DNA.
    Come on over Sundays at 4:00. We humans gather together with God. Pretty simple.
    Good luck to you.

  3. If this is what God has clearly given you direction to do then He will be faithful to supply all your needs.

    Acts 5:29-42

    29-32Peter and the apostles answered, “It’s necessary to obey God rather than men. The God of our ancestors raised up Jesus, the One you killed by hanging him on a cross. God set him on high at his side, Prince and Savior, to give Israel the gift of a changed life and sins forgiven. And we are witnesses to these things. The Holy Spirit, whom God gives to those who obey him, corroborates every detail.”

    33-37When they heard that, they were furious and wanted to kill them on the spot. But one of the council members stood up, a Pharisee by the name of Gamaliel, a teacher of God’s Law who was honored by everyone. He ordered the men taken out of the room for a short time, then said, “Fellow Israelites, be careful what you do to these men. Not long ago Theudas made something of a splash, claiming to be somebody, and got about four hundred men to join him. He was killed, his followers dispersed, and nothing came of it. A little later, at the time of the census, Judas the Galilean appeared and acquired a following. He also fizzled out and the people following him were scattered to the four winds.

    38-39″So I am telling you: Hands off these men! Let them alone. If this program or this work is merely human, it will fall apart, but if it is of God, there is nothing you can do about it—and you better not be found fighting against God!”

    40-42That convinced them. They called the apostles back in. After giving them a thorough whipping, they warned them not to speak in Jesus’ name and sent them off. The apostles went out of the High Council overjoyed because they had been given the honor of being dishonored on account of the Name. Every day they were in the Temple and homes, teaching and preaching Christ Jesus, not letting up for a minute.

  4. Ohhh…..I don’t know…..I mean….well, uh, uh, we had a preacher (one of those with the PhD thingies) tell us that it was OK to read the Bible ourselves, but if we thought we could ‘have church’ with whoever else showed up and brought coffee and donuts and all that stuff we would get in trouble because we had to leave that to the Professionals. We had to know that we wouldn’t really be able to know what the Bible really says…..

    Actually and personally, I find that to be the absolute best in Church. I have high hopes to see that happen where we are. Stop by…I have the coffee, you can bring some donuts!

  5. Elisha. I like this part, “After giving them a thorough whipping, they warned them not to speak in Jesus’ name and sent them off. The apostles went out of the High Council overjoyed because they had been given the honor of being dishonored on account of the Name.”

    An unstoppable love for Jesus…

  6. What is amazing is that we cannot conjure up this love for Him. It is not natural. Only God can impart this kind of crazy no sense making love. So, if you find your self overwhelmed by it, what else can you do but thank Him with your life that you are called out and set apart.

Leave a Reply

