“…and if not let him overdose and die.” ~addicted

Uncle Archie,

I had an amazing experience on new years eve. After considering what you said about talking to homeless people, I finally had an opportunity when one asked me for some money, to ask him if he had ever seen God do anything for him. He wasn’t exactly homeless, but awfully close.

He proceded to tell me how after a life of cocaine and heroin addiction, losing his wife, children, and even the support of his own mother, he moved from California to Oklahoma. He prayed to God that if Jesus was real he wanted to have him in his life and if not let him overdose and die.

That was 1994, he had been clean for fifteen years, he was out with others in the area trying to raise money for the homeless shelter many recovering addicts stay at. He had much more to say, and with such passion and conviction, it was evident God was at work in his life.

Thanks for a great idea, I look forward to my next opportunity to do that again!
Todd

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

3 thoughts on ““…and if not let him overdose and die.” ~addicted”

  1. Todd, I would say that was definitely a God Spot. Think I might try that sometime. Thanks for sharing this story. Isn’t it exciting to see what God does in people’s lifes? Glad to see you reading Uncle Archie’s blog.

  2. Todd, I will be looking forward to hearing how God is working in your life and the lives you touch. God is good,
    all the time. Watching God work and having a part in it is the greatest experience in life. May God bless you and our
    family. Granny

Leave a Reply

