Does God hear the slot machine prayer?

There are times when I pray and immediately I can see God at work fulfilling my wishes.  But there are other times when I pray and I see and get nothing.  What is up with that?  What happens when you pray to the god of slot machines and don't see God do anything?

Some simplify the Sunday School answer to God always answers.  He either says, "Yes", "No" or "Later".  I know the answer to be much deeper than that and likely even devalues God with the simplicity of the taught Sunday School answer.  My God seems to be a bit mysterious in the way He operates.  How about yours?

There is one thing I know to be true.  When you pray in the will of God, things happen.  People struggle knowing the will of God.  Somethings are easy.  Read His Word.  Everything there is within His will.  The Word says, "Love".  So pray for Love.  God will hear.  

Knowing the will of God in buying a new car, may be a bit more difficult to discern His will.  His Word does not say to go buy a new red Porsche, but it doesn't explicitly say to not buy the Porsche of your dreams.  So what do you do?  How will you pray with expectations of seeing God at work?

You might try this.  Bow your head and worship the Father.  Tell Him thank you for life and all He has blessed you with.  While in worship pick up His Word and read it.  Appreciate that you are reading the very Words of God.  Incredible.  Then, ask God for what you should pray.  This part is awesome.  

Don't go to the slot machine god of the skies.  Go to your heavenly Father.  Say, "Father.  I have lots of issues, but today I want to pray according to your will.  For what shall I pray?"  God will immediately open your mind to His thoughts and His will.  Pray in His will, not yours.  

Then remember, revelation dictates action.  Get up and Act up for Jesus!  I love that thought, "Get up and Act up for Jesus!"

Surf to: http://www.freshc.org for a Fresh Connection…

For more GodSpots – 37stories Enjoy!

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

2 thoughts on “Does God hear the slot machine prayer?”

  1. I find myself asking God what I want/need/should pray for…
    these days. I used to steer all the conversation. Now I find I let Him do it and I see a lot more activity. After that, I get up and act up for Jesus too!

Leave a comment