“When a command conflicts with a principle, which rules?”~priest

WHAT!? A priest doesn't know everything?  Well.  Shuck my corn!

As I reach into my pocket and take out my last $2 to give to a bum, the thought comes to my mind: "Be a good steward of what God has given you."  I take the $2, give it to the bum and say, "God bless".

OK.  Here is the rub.  The Word says to give to the poor quite explicitly.  The Word has a principle that says to be good stewards of what God has given us.  Is it possible for a command to conflict with a principle?  I don't know.  Maybe.

Surf to: http://www.freshc.org for a Fresh Connection…

For more GodSpots – 37stories Enjoy!

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

7 thoughts on ““When a command conflicts with a principle, which rules?”~priest”

  1. …giving, of it’s own, should be without strings. So giving with concern about what the recipient does with the gift isn’t giving without strings; without condition. When we place conditions upon the gift, it is removed from the example given us. If Father placed conditions upon our receiving the Free Gift of Life, we would all die in our sin. There is no scripture to say we are to withhold giving if the recipient cannot handle finances. We give to meet needs.
    Regarding the question “…give your last $2 to a bum or be a good steward?” really can be one and the same. To qualify our giving based on what the recipient will do with the gift is to make it not a gift, but a bribe.

  2. jbfrost, Loved, loved, loved your comment….woulda said it myself so thanks for beating me to the punch 🙂

  3. I’ve thought about this a bit, because I hear so many people say they don’t give to the bums. They say they will just use the money to go buy more booze. It made me wonder if I was doing the right thing to give them money.

    I keep giving without expectations and believe I have actually done both. I have been obedient in giving and obedient in being a good steward. I think a good steward will give opening and freely.

    The other night as I gave a guy some money, I prayed for God to remove the desire for alcohol and if he used the money to buy booze, make him throw up and be sick as a dog. Hmmm.

    That doesn’t sound too compassionate. Wonder if I blew it! 🙂

  4. Hi Archie;

    If he or she is a bum, smells like a bottle of wine and asks me for $2 and I have it, I give it anyway.

    Why?

    He is obviously down and out. If booze allows him a respite for a bit, that is his decision. If he wants to eat or have a coffee or lend it at loan shark rates to his buddies, that is his decision. I did my part. I gave and hopefully he or she has a smile for a bit.

    What else can you do, prejudge someone’s motives for asking based on what others say? For the one hundred times I have been taken advantage of, there is that one time it did some real good, making the other 99 times worth it.

  5. …and then there is the scripture that says

    Proverbs 31:5-7 (New King James Version)
    5 Lest they drink and forget the law,
    And pervert the justice of all the afflicted.
    6 Give strong drink to him who is perishing,
    And wine to those who are bitter of heart.
    7 Let him drink and forget his poverty,
    And remember his misery no more.

    So…maybe it is perfectly OK…

  6. If you do not give because YOU have already decided what the person is going to do with it…then I think you are denying the supernatural powers of God to use your gift for something better or more powerful than you ever had in mind. Archie you said you prayed that if he used it for alcohol that it would make him sick etc – isn’t that what already happens really? God’s got it under control…we just need to obey OUR command

Leave a Reply

