“God revealed a mystery to me last night.” ~priest

I want to ask forgiveness of all the people I have met in my lifetime that have pain or an illness that can’t be fixed.  God has blessed me my entire life with incredibly good health.  I could not relate to the pain others felt suffering from long term poor health.  Sure, I felt bad for them.  But, only for an instant.  After all, I felt good.  Forgive me.

With my recent migraines, I am beginning to appreciate the physical and mental suffering of others.  This experience will likely be one of the biggest blessings of my life time.  It seems the price of knowledge and understanding is not always cheap.  The cost of love even more, so.

This picture is a picture of a man I don’t know, but I am sure it is representative of millions around the world who are confused, hungry and lost.  This picture is my self portrait without Jesus.  I am still a man.  I still think.  I still have dreams and passions, but most will never be fulfilled.  I am starved for the love of Christ.

In the midst of my headaches, I have been praying God draw me close.  Don’t let this suffering be for nothing.  Place value in my head hurting.  Teach me what you want to teach me.  Order my steps.  Reveal your pleasure on my life.  Show me your purpose in life.

God gave me this picture of man without Jesus.  Look at the eyes.  See the insatiable desire and hunger.  Look at the hands designed to have purpose and function, but having no strength.  Look at the lips having desire to speak, but no words of value to say.  Look at the nose, ready to breath in the essence of Jesus, but smelling only the stench of death.  This is a picture of me without Jesus.

God revealed a mystery to me last night.  It likely won’t be much of a mystery to you, because unless God reveals, words are just stuff on paper.  But for me the revelation is mind blowing.  The truth places great meaning on my life and yours.  I’ll save the revelation for a future blog as I work through its implications, but I want you to know Jesus loves you.

Without Jesus, life is hell and eternity is waiting….

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

4 thoughts on ““God revealed a mystery to me last night.” ~priest”

  1. Hi Archie;

    I see a man suffering, without hope in this picture.

    I do not know what his faith may or may not be, it is not for me to decide or judge whether he has it or not.

    Suffering in pain is no delight. It opens the mind to the reality of others.

    If you love, you learn compassion, for you do not want others to feel the pain you suffer from.

    They carry the burden and smile.

    We often speak of the spirit, yet our bodies are not meant to be permanent. We are mortal, imperfect physically and spiritually.

    We try and accept what is as our personal fate and keep our spirits up. It would be so simple to lash out in fury and hate at our own discomfort, that is the challenge of late.

    To not lash out, but to illustrate a better way.

    Regardless if our souls are feeling low and our body cries out in pain.

    I have known such people, and their spirits overcame. They loved life and people, no matter their suffering.

    I felt lifted when I spent time with such as these, knowing they suffered, but their spirits shone and smiled upon me.

    Be as a beacon if you can.

    Show your light if you can, the rest is only temporary and will pass with time.

  2. Hi… I couldn’t help but relate to this post. I guess because I too have recently gone through some serious health problems, to the point that I had almost lost the ability to walk (for 4 months) due to severe joint pain and muscle weakness. Before this happened to me I had never suffered from a serious illness before in my life and neither could I identify with those who had. I don’t think any of us can truly know or understand suffering or loss until we too have experienced some form of suffering or loss in our own lives. It is comforting to know that God is in control though, and nothing happens to us that He is not aware of and that He will not bring about for our good. That said, I am still within the throws of testing but wanted to let you know I am now walking again and almost completely pain free. I tell you this, because I spent months going back and forth with I don’t know how many doctors and then read an article about vitamin D deficiency and thought, “what the heck, I’ll give it a try.” That is the only thing I did, 5000 iu’s of vitamin D a day, and I am on my way back – thank God! Just wanted to share this with you and suggest that you do as much research as you possibly can regarding supplements and your body’s natural ability to heal itself. A lot of doctor’s never think to look for a “simple” cause when it comes to what ails us, like vitamin deficiency. God bless!

  3. Thank you Jennifer. It is encouraging you have found relief and God working in your body is indeed the great physician. I am sure he has grand plans for your future. God bless!

Leave a Reply

