“The world is a mess. Without God there is no hope.”~priest

Guest post by a friend of the EPIC family,
Hey y'all.
 
Spent my evening at my sister's house (house-sitting) watching olympics and the dirty dozen, doing laundry, hangin' with her cats. Didn't stay the night, wanted to sleep in my own bed. Left halfway through the movie around 12:25am, arriving at my apartment, there were 2 police cars. As I walked to my building, I saw my neighbor, Maria, distressed, in tears, talking to the cops at her front door. I went up to see her.
 
She had been beaten by her boyfriend.
 
There was another neighbor woman on the phone with Maria's sister, who was on her way. Maria has 2 kids. They were at her parents house. I went upstairs to see her and to offer any assistance.
 
Maria reeked of alchohol and her nose was black & blue, her eyes swollen from the tears, big scratches on her arms and she was just a mess.
 
I can't tell you how it has affected me right now.

Please pray for Maria. Pray she will get help. Pray she will stay away from this man who has abused her. Please pray for this man who is abusive. There is so much abuse around me in this aparment building! The guy next door on the phone with his girlfriend calling her all the names you don't call someone, the couple upstairs who argue throughout the night saying things to each other no one deserves to hear. People are hurting. Jesus came for them. Pray they will know the truth.
 
thanks,
cat

Surf to: http://www.freshc.org for a Fresh Connection…

For more GodSpots – 37stories Enjoy!

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

One thought on ““The world is a mess. Without God there is no hope.”~priest”

  1. Hi Archie;

    Many of them grew up like that, a product of their environment. The world was always that way and always will be for some folks. That is what they refer to as hell and it can get worse.

    Her husband beat her, she was drunk.

    I’ve seen drunk women get out of control and you need to be able to overcome the madness not to hit. I am not condoning either behavior, but when it is a he said, she said thing, the truth is somewhere in between.

    They don’t realize it is their behavior that makes it the way it is. I know people poor as dirt who have class, respect and honor one another. They don’t get drunk and abuse one another.

    That is it in a nutshell. If they were to experience civilization as it is could be for long enough to know there is a better way, they would pursue it.

    They do not know better in many cases.

    Anyway, that is my take on it.

Leave a Reply

