Shall I pray?

 

“Praying for the forgiveness of another, may open a window of opportunity for God to work a miracle, He might otherwise not be inclined to perform.”~priest

.

.

.

.

.

.

Note: Don’t read the comments if you are satisfied with milk and are ok with your faith rich with fluff.

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

5 thoughts on “Shall I pray?”

  1. Yes! Yes! Yes! That’s what I was saying only you did it in less than 1 million words! Ha!

    Thanks Archie, you’re the best.
    Godspeed,
    Rich
    Truth From The Hip

  2. Richard. I processed a lot of thoughts before God gave me that one. ha! Where is your link to your thoughts? My readers will like to read the long version. Thank you for authenticating my conclusion. archie

  3. Richard goes on to say,…

    But here is what I believe the spirit of your question is; Can I get God to forgive someone and not hold something against them? No, I don’t think so. That is between God and them.

    I, personally, need to forgive others as I have been forgiven by Jesus. God already has demonstrated that forgiveness has been made available to all sinners, but the key here is that they must personally recognize His forgiveness and receive it unto themselves.

    There is nothing inherently wrong with asking the Lord to forgive someone. Not that I can see. But I believe what we are telling the Lord is, “I forgive them, Lord. I’m not holding their sin against them and I pray their eyes will be opened to their sin so as to lead to recognition, confession and repentance unto salvation.

    One more thought; the Word says in John 20:23; “Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive anyone’s sins, they are forgiven. If you refuse to forgive them, they are unforgiven.”

    What does this mean? Does it mean I have the authority to forgive men “unto eternal salvation”? No, I don’t think so. To me, it means I have an obligation to extend to them the same grace and forgiveness that has been extended to me. But look at this, this is critical; the King James uses the word “retain” as it relates to sin in this verse. The Greek word used for our “retain” is KRATEO. It literally means to “strengthen”.

    I interpret this to mean that if I do not release others from their sin by forgiving them it will actually strengthen their sin’s hold against them. The more others forgive them for their sin the more freedom they will experience that could lead them unto repentance.

    If we retain their sin against them it gains strength to hold them in bondage. The more of their sin that is forgiven by others the closer they are to freedom in Christ because their sin is not being held against them. Sin is spiritual in nature and we must not give it strength by choosing to retain it against ourselves or others.

  4. Incredibly wise response, Richard. There is meat to chew on. Catch Richard’s full response here.

    I am particularly impressed with the thought of sin strengthening or weakening its grip on another. I must ponder this as I pray for a lost person’s salvation or as I pray for an increased quality of life for the believer.

    If you have nailed the issue correctly, how much more important can it be for us to “pray without ceasing”. How else will we even begin to scratch the surface of reaching those people who God would desire to have sin’s grip weakened; such that He might have His will and purpose fulfilled!

    Your thought is impactful. I will pray and ponder….

  5. Archie Rhines is thinking that somehow mystically, when you pray, you untie God’s hands so that He may choose to work a miracle in another’s life. How important can prayer be?

Leave a Reply

