“Starbucks got my lunch money and a homeless guy got my offering.”~priest

Starbucks got my lunch money and a homeless guy got my offering.  At this rate, I’m going to have to get sponsorship or at least find somewhere else that has cheap lunch, free wireless internet and homeless people. ~just sayin’

Kevin walked up beside my table and asked for a couple dollars.  I appreciate it when a homeless guy sets his sights higher than pocket change.  I chatted all the regular stuff.  Where you from? Where you going?  How long you been here?  He complied with answers and totally disinterested.  He said, “Don’t get me in trouble.”  I said don’t worry about it, I’ll tell management you are my friend.
.
I asked him to tell me about Jesus.  He said he was baptized at Westside Baptist in Odessa.  He was a Christian.  I asked if he had ever seen God do anything for him.  He said, ‘Yes, but didn’t know what.’  He really just wanted his money.  He never did tell me about Jesus.
.
So let me ask you this question…. Have you ever seen God do anything?  Maybe you have but won’t tell me because you know the bum already got all my money.  lol ..

Surf to: http://www.freshc.org for a Fresh Connection…

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

5 thoughts on ““Starbucks got my lunch money and a homeless guy got my offering.”~priest”

  1. I have seen God change my husband. He is not the man I married, but still the one I loved and made a convenant promise to nearly 16 years ago. God also sent an angel in my path, (or at least an obedient servant) as a stronghold of anger was being broken in him. If that had not happened I’m not sure I would have been able to stand in the toughest part of that weekend when everything changed. Being hugged by God feels really really good. 🙂

  2. Hi Archie;

    He is quite a character 🙂

    You ask a lot of questions on this blog, probably a lot more than I do on mine and I thought I asked a lot.

    Today the word simple came to my mind. It seems to me that politics, finance, world affairs and religion including faith is no longer simple, but you need an advanced degree in unraveling BS to get to some semblance of what appears to be true.

    For me everything is simple, including faith. I have one God, who I assume is the same as yours and that is it.

    Everything else can wait in line. 🙂

    For me, my faith is the only one that stands the test. If I don’t have a bible, koran or anything else it doesn’t matter.

    I truly believe for the mentally challenged and others who can not or have not heard what the missionaries try and teach, they have their faith in one God. We have this built into our system somehow, like genes which predetermine hereditary diseases and so forth.

    We have a better understanding of some things than before, but no one knows it all.

    For me, my faith is a God Spot, even if it doesn’t correspond to other people’s definition of righteousness.

    For I cherish peace, am compassionate (I hate to see someone cry or suffer) and am not a murderer.

    Some may say that is not enough. I say why not?

    But we are human.

    You know I read your stuff, if I agree or not I don’t hesitate to throw my two cents worth in and I think you are a character worth knowing, even if I don’t always agree with you 🙂

    In other words thanks 🙂

  3. Thank you Lisa! It is awesome to know that God has made a difference in your and your husband’s life. It is amazing to me that many people can not remember when God showed up in their lives…. God bless!
    archi

  4. You’re welcome Archie. You make me want to ask others the same question. I have a horrible memory at times, but that is the biggest and “best of” the collection 😉 I just wish I had kept a journal over the years. We have to set up stones to share our faith with others.
    *I really appreciate your blog!

Leave a Reply

