“Sign, sign, everywhere a sign. Do this. Don’t do that. Can’t you read the sign?”~priest

I’ve been thinking about sincere believers who are wrong.  I know I must be wrong in some of the things I believe, because my beliefs have changed over time.  As I’ve gotten older, I’ve become much more
tolerant of the rules and regulations of salvation.  The rules have become insignificant when compared to the grace available.  I believe my life has become much richer.
.
I think as a believer begins enjoying his place of authority among other believers, he or she may discover they don’t have all the answers but they like the position.  The believers that look up to them begin maturing in their faith and the one in positional authority begins to feel threatened.  The solution can be easy for them.  They just have to have all the answers.  If they don’t know something, they can add logic with impure motive and have an answer for everything.
.
God’s way is simple.  By faith and believing that Jesus died for your sins and rose again, is the backbone of all true religion.  It is the other stuff that is not so clear, that leaders begin providing answers for, when really God intended to keep as a mystery.
.
So I’d say if you are being led by someone that has all the answers, he/she is a fraud or you are not asking the right questions.  Only Jesus had all the answers.  Also if you are one giving all the answers,  consider the consequences promised by God for those that lead another astray.
.
As for signs…

And the sign said long haired freaky people need not apply
So I tucked my hair up under my hat and I went in to ask him why
He said you look like a fine upstanding young man, I think you’ll do
So I took off my hat I said imagine that, huh, me working for you
woah!

Sign Sign everywhere a sign
Blocking out the scenery breaking my mind
Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign

And the sign said anybody caught trespassing would be shot on sight
So I jumped on the fence and yelled at the house, Hey! what gives you the right
To put up a fence to keep me out or to keep mother nature in
If God was here, he’d tell you to your face, man you’re some kinda sinner

Sign Sign everywhere a sign
Blocking out the scenery breaking my mind
Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign

For more GodSpots – 37stories Enjoy!

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

One thought on ““Sign, sign, everywhere a sign. Do this. Don’t do that. Can’t you read the sign?”~priest”

  1. More great thoughts, Archie. Thanks! I learned early-on in my Pastoral ministry that there is nothing wrong with looking someone in their eyes and saying, “I don’t know, but let’s take it to the Lord.” Sometimes He opened our eyes and sometimes He didn’t. Things will become clear to all of us when we get “home”.
    Thanks Archie!

Leave a Reply

