“I use to be afraid of the homeless.”~priest

I wrote this in response to a friend’s comment on courage…

Courage is relative to the need. I think the courageous are those that share their faith in spite of life and death issues….

I use to be afraid of the homeless. It turns out most are incredibly friendly. Some that have lost most of their mind may not be quite so friendly.. lol

Whatever boldness I have is from God in the form of baby steps… and His arranged opportunities. I usually don’t go looking for people. They find me. Some times I look, but mostly just sieze opportunity.

Usually the conversation is not preachy and just centers around their needs. I walk up or they walk up and the conversation may start with, “How can I help?” It is really that easy.

A couple days ago, it was in a coffee shop. I saw this guy listening in on a conversation I was having. I stopped and turned to him and asked, “Can I help you?” He said, “Why do people suffer?” It blew me away…. A long conversation followed.

The point is…. just be available and don’t worry about it. If you are available, God will put people with an ear to hear in your path.

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

One thought on ““I use to be afraid of the homeless.”~priest”

Leave a Reply

