Do you hear the screams?

It is late…

It is late in many ways…

I have lived for 56 years.  I won’t live another 56 years.   It is late…

I am impressed with how fragile and unpredictable life is.  There is one day coming when I will be saying goodbyes…

I smile and shake hands with a person who knows more about the uncertainty of life than I.  He has a secret he does not share as he chats about the weather.  He is HIV positive and AIDS is knocking on the door.

He understands that there is a date assigned to his life.  He knows the date draws near, yet he merely shakes my hand and chats about the weather.  How can that be?

I can imagine myself screaming and shaking the person looking at me.  I am screaming at the top of my lungs inside my head.  Don’t you hear me screaming?  I am dying!  Don’t you care?  Listen to me!

And on the outside I am chatting about the weather, figuring the other person really doesn’t want to hear about my problems…

It is getting late.   I hope one day to hear the screams of others and not be so inclined to chat about the weather.

Yes, it is getting late… but God willing… it is not too late.

Forgive me if I have missed your screams.

It is not too late.

God bless.

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

6 thoughts on “Do you hear the screams?”

  1. Hi Archie;

    Death is a part of life. No reason to scream. I had a dying AIDs patient living in my home, my best friend had ALS and died, my former business partner and friend died from a heart attack and when I was younger one of my best friends at that time committed suicide.

    Death is part of the process.

    I like this quote:

    “When it comes time to die, be not like those whose hearts are filled with the fear of death, so when their time comes they weep and pray for a little more time to live their lives over again in a different way. Sing your death song, and die like a hero going home.”….Chief Aupumut

  2. I have been thinking about death lately….and it surprises me that I smile….because I know that I will be with the Father…and that eternity has a wonderful promise of Happiness with my Daddy!

  3. I love what you wrote….it hurts to see what has to happen….eventually death will show up at our door….we will be forced to answer….I just want to be able to show all that I care about how much I truly love them….my brother, Archie, much love and happiness to your and yours….!

  4. I like that Ichabod… die like a hero going home…. Are you getting hunkered down for the inevitable winter?

    Thank you Deborah… I think it is good to periodically consider death and then go help make someone else’s life more liveable.. it is all about the love.

  5. Yes, I’ve thought much about dying the last year. I am not afraid, I’m looking forward to seeing heaven and all its glory, and seeing my Saviour face to face. The Bible tells us some of what heaven is going to be like, but I cannot imagine in my finite mind the beauty of it. Some do not want to think about it since they do not have a faith in God relationship and His grace and mercy. I have a friend with lung cancer – inoperable. Yet she is happy. She knows heaven is her home. I trust God will help me minister to her in the days ahead.

  6. People fear death because it is a mystery to most.

    Even believers want to hold onto life, knowing there is a better one ahead.

    I think there are times when we all scream.

    Will anyone hear us?

    And as you pointed out, will we hear anyone else’s scream?

    So we should make an effort to be more sensitive.

    I feel like this fear starts out strong as we know little.

    But it should decrease with time, as our faith grows and matures.

    I find the closer I get, however, the less I want to scream, and the more peace I feel.

    God bless you for hearing someone else’s heart.

Leave a Reply

