“Nicholas left only minutes before the police arrived to break up the God Spot.”~archie

Nicholas_guest

So i worked a full 10 hour day and headed home in my faithful '96 Jetta.  Cora and I have had it since it was new.  It has been incredibly trustworthy.  

Today, i decided to swing by the bank and cash a check that i was given quite unexpectedly.  Cora was out of town, so i thought it might be good to have some cash in my pocket.  I mention this because it put me on the service road, instead of the highway.  As i pulled away from the bank and gained speed on the service road, my Jetta died.  It just immediately stopped running.  I had enough speed to coast into a gas station.  

I parked it out of the way and confirmed it was not going to start.  Making the best of what could have been really frustrating, i went inside and bought cashew peanuts with a pop to wash them down.  I knew i'd be there a while and it sounded like a reasonable dinner.

As God would have it, there was a picnic table out front and i parked myself while enjoying the refreshment.  I said, "Well God, here i am?  What's your plan? Who will you send my way for a chat?"  Within minutes, homeless Nicholas Guest walked up and asked if he could sit with me and chat a while.  I said, "Sure" and he proceeded to sit, put down his homeless sign and tell me his story.

As stories go, his was interesting enough and likely the story of many Viet Nam veterans.  Alcohol is his best friend and keeps him mellow to deal with the day.  I told Nicholas about God Spots and he was taking part in one.  You know… a God Spot is when God periodically authenticates His presence and i get to blog about it.  The thought excited him and we chatted about God.

It turns out he and i know the same God.  It is a God that loves us just like we are.  There is nothing we can do to make God love us any more or any less.  It is a God that we were instantly in common agreement about.  He knew his God loved him and wanted him to improve his life and he was working on it.  I said i thought that would be good. 

We chatted more and i explained God orchestrates God Spots and i wanted to make sure we didn't miss anything in our encounter.  I asked if he ever feels in danger living on the street.  He said not really.  God had assigned two angels to watch out for him and sometimes in his paranoia, he will call on a hundred angels and they come running.  He was confident about the angels… i am, too.

When you get right down to it… you and i are much like Nicholas.  We likely all have some type of addiction.  It's just that Nicholas doesn't choose to hide his.

Oh and for a PS.  Nicholas left only minutes before the police arrived to break up the God Spot.  It seems drinking beer on the premises is not permitted.
Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

Leave a Reply

