It was cold last night…

homeless william

There are those that look on a homeless man with bloodshot eyes as a lost cause.  Certainly not a cause worth giving money to.  People will say, “Don’t give the person money.  He will just go buy alcohol.”  I suppose that may be true…

I prefer a bit different perspective.  I prefer to count my blessings and share them with another and attach no strings.  I prefer to give with little expectation other than to possibly create an opportunity to tell another about the love of Jesus.

I woke William and gave him some cash.  He looked at it.  Stuck it in his pocket and replied, “It was cold last night.”  I agreed and asked God’s blessing on William.  I felt good about my investment in William’s life.  I’m hoping my cash authenticates God’s love for William in a way he can understand.

Live life with an open hand…

 

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".