“I am an island. I am a rock.”~Simon and Garfunkel

I am touched deeply by several people who hurt and have been hurting for some time.  Maybe you are one more of those people.  You have found an island much like Simon and Garfunkel sing about.  You have found your safe place, alone to feel your pain, but no one to share it with.  I am sad for you.  God never intended for you to be alone.
.
There is but one answer.  The answer is Jesus.  You may have heard the answer a hundred times before and you are still alone on your island.  Maybe this time you will allow the knowledge of Jesus to get from your head to your heart.  That statement is not one of condemnation.  It is one of truth.  I am right there with you in the struggle to get head knowledge to my heart.
.
I am puzzled why heart knowledge is so difficult to acquire and yet I know the answer.  It is evil.  There is evil in the world that gets in the way of our heart being drawn to God’s love.  But there is HOPE!  God LOVE is stronger than anything evil can throw at us on our island.
.
Let HOPE in.  Let God’s LOVE in.  Your island may be a safe place for you to stay for a season, but it is not God’s desire that you stay there alone.  Allow God access.  Invite Him in.  He will not force Himself.  You have to crack the door open and invite Him in.  He has the invitation waiting on your lips, even as you read this. Speak.
.

A winter’s day 
In a deep and dark December; 
I am alone, 
Gazing from my window to the streets below 
On a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow. 
I am a rock, 
I am an island.

I’ve built walls, 
A fortress deep and mighty, 
That none may penetrate. 
I have no need of friendship; friendship causes pain. 
It’s laughter and it’s loving I disdain. 
I am a rock, 
I am an island.

Don’t talk of love, 
But I’ve heard the words before; 
It’s sleeping in my memory. 
I won’t disturb the slumber of feelings that have died. 
If I never loved I never would have cried. 
I am a rock, 
I am an island.

I have my books 
And my poetry to protect me; 
I am shielded in my armor, 
Hiding in my room, safe within my womb. 
I touch no one and no one touches me. 
I am a rock, 
I am an island.

And a rock feels no pain; 
And an island never cries.


Surf to: http://www.freshc.org for a Fresh Connection..

Published by

37stories

It is the desire of my heart that God be Lord of my life. Life’s experiences have killed the old man and God is building a new creation in me. I look forward to experiencing the new man God creates in the old vessel known as Archie via "God Spots".

Leave a comment